Comcast can kiss my ass

This is an email I sent to our local news consumer watchdog guys at KOMO news 4 as well as to the editor of the local paper.

Sirs,

I have all but ignored the information available about the digital TV transition because I am hooked up to Comcast cable. I have a very large house that has 8 televisions in it. Two of these are hooked to Comcast digital cable boxes, and the other six are not.

During the recent tests that have been offered by local televisioin stations the TV’s in my house all passed the test. Again – they are all hooked to cable and none of them receive any “over the air” programming.

As of the last few days – I have noticed a splash screen on two channels (Oxygen and CMT) that says “Digital equipment is now needed to view this channel. If you need digital equipment please call 1 800 COMCAST. I called Comcast and was told that I needed to lease additional devices (I believe called “DTA’s”) for the TV’s that are not connected directly to cable boxes and that this effort had nothing to do with the Digital TV transition (evidenced by the fact that I have the messages on my screen well before the transition).

I was told that within the year – Nothing would be available through my direct cable (without the box) except for local networks and would not have access to MTV, ESPN, or many other of the cable favorites.

I haven’t heard one word about this on the news or from Comcast. All I have heard is that If I have cable – I needn’t worry about the transition – including the statement below from the Comcast web site.

I truly feel that we are being mislead by Comcast and being bilked again.

Thanks for your time

Stoughton B Bailie Sr

http://www.comcast.com/dtv/currentcustomer.html

“If you have Comcast Cable, you’re ready already for the Digital Transition.
If all your TVs are currently connected to Comcast, you don’t have to worry about a thing. Just sit back, relax and keep watching your favorite shows.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

